Posted by: sulya | 24 May 2012

Perhaps All That’s Left is Poetry

No prose
fiction
dialogue
characters
stories

too much living
to be writing
the way I am accustomed
to be writing

too much school
and theory
and abstractions
so much more
abstract
than prose

fiction
dialogue
characters
stories

fragments
fragmented
fragmentation

word games without
flow
or
purpose
or prose

fiction
dialogue
characters
stories

a hollowness
a missing
an ache
a wonder and loss
of identity
amidst
so
many
knew
identities
of which none
are prose

fiction
dialogue
characters
stories

or me
entirely

not entirely myself
not in my entirety

hopeful though
that I will
find my way
back
to prose

fiction
dialogue
characters
stories

Responses

  1. Hi Sulya,

    thought I would check if you were writing still. This answers that question! You still have “your voice” though despite all the changes.
    I am taking a poetry class and finding it hard to sit still through it although I am enjoying it – haven’t tried form before – interestingly it is more freeing than constraining.
    Hope to catch up some day.

    Christine.

  2. Thinking of you

  3. I just found your blog randomly. I find myself enchanted by octopi, they really are mysterious, incredibly underestimated, strong, beautiful and even sensual creatures. My 5 year old son is autistic and is obsessed with any and all sea creatures. We constantly watch documentaries. I’ve grown fond of the octopus, in a world where Shark Week is king. You seem like a fascinating person. Someone by just reading your posts, that I could get along with. I’d love to read more from you. Alas, this appears to be your last post. However I do hold out hope that you will come back. Hope all is well.

    • Hi Angela – Thank you for this thoughtful and personal comment. It means a lot to me, actually, that you would take the time to write and to hear you share about your son and some of the things he teaches you :) I agree wholeheartedly about octopi and their sensuality. They are crazy smart, too, and seem able to show cross-species gratitude in ways we do not often associate with the sea and her creatures… Lately my son teaches me about current online/youtube pop culture things more than trains or animals like he used to do… I guess that’s part of what happens when you’re 12? Luckily, he’s not so closed off that I can’t share things with him too. I figure as long as we can still laugh with each other (which, thankfully, we still do) we will survive the next 6-10 years of adolescent angst. This was indeed the last post on this blog but I did start a new one called beingthebadger.wordpress.com a while after… Sadly, it too has been long neglected and your comment arrived right when I have been trying to figure out how to “come back” to blog-writer me… Fiction-writer me has been gone for a long time and I’m slowly trying to get her back too… But, academic writer me has kind of swallowed all the other me’s as I try to finish a PhD [insert heavy, sad sigh here, lol]… Anyway! Your comment was both grounding and inspiring and, again, I am truly grateful you took the time. I hope you get to see this and that you and your son are also well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

