Posted by: sulya | 30 August 2009

I am in love

inlovewith four pennies in a parking lot
and the gulls who
never mistake
those four pennies
for food.

With the gaping hoods
of endless pick-up trucks
flayed open
with grills that look like teeth.

Teeth full of bugs.

I am in love with the
chipped edge
of my Ikea blue bowl
and its salsa
so hot it makes me cry.

*

With a red-headed
black handled
hairbrush
sitting on a wall.

With the blue glow of my TV
before the power cuts out
and how my cat yells at me
with teeth bared
glared
shining
because I will not
will not
let him on the deck.

I am in love with how fuzzy
my hair is
for some reason
I can move it anywhere and it
just stays.
Stays where I put it
like so few things ever do.

I am in love with the
knock knock knock
of my cell phone,
with the beep beep beep
of a car.

I am in love with windows lit
through trees at night

and I’m in love with you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

